Finding Your Identity In God Alone- Inner Beauty (Part 4)

Hello everyone! Welcome back to the blog for another Inner Beauty post! It’s been a while since I last posted in this series, and y’all must’ve thought I’d forgotten all about it! I’ve been waiting for the right subject to discuss next.

(To see parts One, Two, and Three of the series, see the articles linked below!)

I know that the subject of “finding your identity” in God is touchy. No one seems to provide an answer for those who honestly want to know how to do it. The truth is, there is no “one” answer. However, I think there is a principle to follow in everyday life, in order to be sure that your life “lines up” with God’s will.

“Make your decisions based on The Word, but leave the resolution to God.”

Me 🙂

Recently I discovered that all of the files on my computer would have to be wiped. And I know I told some of you that there might be a chance it could be recovered, but it was a false hope. The shop just couldn’t clear the virus to grab the content.

You know what that means, don’t you? All the stories I’ve written, even some novels I was starting … Lots of essays, the essays I had been working on when I was trying to catch up and had almost finished … some songs I had written … and around 17 pages of blog post ideas.

The last one is just annoying, but the rest really hurt. I love writing, and I used to spend a lot of my time writing things that flowed right from my heart. I never backed up my computer, and now all those things are gone. What now do I have to remind me of those days, of those accomplishments?

I was really, really sad, when I first found out. (Honestly, I cried a lot.) It felt like something precious had been stripped away from me, and it had been. I don’t know if I’ll ever be able to rewrite some of those stories, and I certainly can’t remember many of the songs. My parents decided to let me skip those essays that I’d already written, so I don’t have to write them again. And I’ll continue to blog, dont worry! 😊

Life goes on … but when you’re smack in the middle of the pain, it’s hard to see it.

Photo by Vojtech Okenka on Pexels.com

In the middle of it, I felt peace. I was crying, but I felt at peace. I’m paraphrasing what I prayed, (because I don’t have a perfect memory!) but here it is:

“I don’t know how to fix this, but You can. But if You don’t, I believe that it’ll be okay. I won’t mourn, because I’d know that You wanted it to happen. And my identity is not found in these computer files – it is found in YOU, in who I am in You. Help me. I don’t know how this will affect my school either, but You will make a way.”

If my identity is found and rooted in my WIPs and albums and academic record, and any one of those things tanks, then I will be totally destroyed. But if my identity is rooted in The Most High, and He is the One I go to whenever there’s a passion-demolition, then I can’t be devastated.

(Another journal snippet:)

“But most of all, I know that though everything else be taken from me, I can never lose who I am – who I’ve become – and I can never be stripped of my faith.”

I know know KNOW that God’s got it. And He’s in control of YOUR situations too … whatever disappointment you’re dealing with right now, is His Will for you. Even if it’s something horrible that you never would have wanted for yourself. Girls and boys, there is a light at the end of the tunnel. I can see the light at the end of my tunnel. And because YHVH is the one driving the train, I know we’ll make it through okay.

This song is so so powerful. If I watched it right now, I’d cry. Because it’s exactly how I feel about what just happened in my life, and it’s exactly how I want to respond to every other hardship I face in the future. Watch it. That’s an order. XD


I guess this is where I provide you all with the catchy little phrase so you can remember this more easily. XD But I’d encourage you not to just look at the phrase – internalize it. Make it REAL in YOUR life.

BeautifulYou Tip: Identify in God alone. Bring every aspect of your life back to His Will for you. Praise Him for what He’s doing in your life, even if it hurts. Embrace the emotional strength and spritual maturity that develops as a result of trusting in God alone.

So get out there! Face your challenges. Instead of tearing yourself apart and frantically trying to fix them, leave them in God’s hands. Go ahead and do what you can … but in the meanwhile, He’ll be doing what no one and nothing else can do.

Makayla

18 thoughts on “Finding Your Identity In God Alone- Inner Beauty (Part 4)

  1. theworksofadreamer

    I am sorry to hear about those files being wiped out; I experienced something similar a few years ago, and lost all my essays from a whole grade of history which was devastating. I agree leaving challenges into God’s hands is the best thing to do, when you have no control over the situation.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jasmine Rose

    Aww, girl, this was so special! Firstly I am SO sorry about all of your files getting cleared! That must have been heartbreaking to lose all of that!
    But I love how you handled it, completely surrendering yourself to YHWH! Ahh, I don’t even know what to say! These posts just inspire me so much!
    Healing and Surrender have been my words of 2021 and it has seriously been so peaceful! YHWH is just so AMAZING! 🕊🥺💖 Love ya! 💖

    Liked by 2 people

    • makaylajesalyn

      Thank you so much for your sympathy … and thaaaaank you SO much for the encouragement and your amazing kind words! I’m so glad you have found healing and surrender! (You should definitely make some notes for a blog post on your journey in the future … it’s something I’m also trying to work through (surrender, that is) and I wonder if your story could open my eyes and the eyes of others. When you’re ready to post again, of course!)
      Anywhoo, I adored reading your comment! Thank you so much, girl! Love ya too!!💗💓

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Grace

    Love this post, Makayla! Truly our identity can only be found in Christ anything else just won’t work. I lost a few WIPs, songs and thoughts when a computer crashed a few years ago, so I identify with that. But you are so right. If we find our identity in those things we’ll become desperate. Looking to Jesus and realizing our identity in Him we become desperately in love with Him. Thanks for being real!
    Grace

    Liked by 1 person

    • makaylajesalyn

      Amen and amen, Grace!! Thank you so much!! Wow, this certainly has happened to a lot of people… I’m so sorry for your loss, cuz it sure is disappointing! You too – it’s so cool to read your posts because you’ve always got an action step, something you’re doing in your life, (or are planning to do!), keeping it “real”! (I love that phrase!😅)
      Anyhow, thanks again! Have a great night! (Or day, if that’s your time zone! 😆)

      Liked by 1 person

      • Grace

        Thanks! It means a lot to hear (um, or see, I guess…) you say that because I’ve always wanted my posts not just to be devotionals, because so often we (or maybe just me, idk) forget what we’ve read and do nothing about it. But if there’s a plan, or a step we can take all laid out for us we’re more likely to do something with it. Anyways, thanks!
        Oh and I had a great night! 😉 Hope you did too!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Megan

    Makayla, this was brilliant!! I loved reading, and everything you said is so true. I agree- if we let other things consume our identity then we won’t ever feel satisfied or complete- the only way to feel fully whole is to place our identity only in Jesus Christ!
    That said, l’m so, so sorry about your laptop… I can’t even imagine how devastating it must be to lose all of your precious work. You’re handling it admirably though!
    But thank you so much for sharing this, I was so excited when part four popped up in my reader this morning!! 💛

    Liked by 1 person

    • makaylajesalyn

      Thank you so much, Megan!! Thank you for the sympathy too … everyone’s been so kind and understanding about it! I love your thoughts, and absolutely agree!! 💗
      Haha, I gotta admit, I was so excited to do this part four too! It’s been a while, and I’ve been dying to get back into it!! 🤣

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Jesus Girl

    Bro this it in a way that I even know if it was meant to. You know when you just feel spiritually lazy and distant from God. That’s what I’ve been feeling for too long. The worst part is it was in the middle of me make a huge spiritual decision . if I’m being honest that might have been the reason I was backing off from my faith. And I’ve been so I secure about everything like my grades and boys that I am I to not liking me back because they like girls with platinum blonde hair rather than dirty blonde or dumb stuff like that. But listening to that song just broke me. For some reason that always happens when I get like this and listen to a good worship song. Anyways, sorry if I was venting too much, but this post just helped me a lot so thank you and thank Jesus.

    Liked by 1 person

    • makaylajesalyn

      Ohh, absolutely! I’m so sorry you’ve been struggling! 😪 I know, it’s soo difficult to deal with grades and life, and guys especially!! I’m so glad you enjoyed the song too, I know, sometimes music does that to you! Absolutely feel free to vent, I love reading long comments and hearing about your life! I’ll be praying for you, sister! God bless!! 💗

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment