Goals and Habits … Is it God’s Will?

Over the month of December and early January, I’d been making personal goals and accomplishing them, and here’s what I’ve learned; It feels really good. It feels good to do things, and do them well. It’s empowering to feel strong, smart, talented, and organized. And for someone who’s love language is ‘words of affirmation’, having people affirm my efforts and tell me I’m wonderful makes my heart burst with joy!

However … is it really me?

Are my brains, my strength, my talents … are they really mine? Can I crush whatever goal I have simply because I’m determined and motivated? Does health mean everything? Is my body mine, to use however I want?

And I had to concede … the answer is no.

No, my brains and strength and talent is not mine – it’s YHVH’s, that He gave to me to use for His glory. No, my own determination and motivation only goes so far – it’s YHVH who breathes life and energy into me to enable me to work hard in life. And I can’t get anywhere on my own strength – It’s YHVH I need to lean on, trust in, to help me in distress and hard times.


However, even though we know that we should take this step, how do we do it? How can we smack back our bad habits of trusting in ourselves, of making goals that take YHVH out of the picture? Habits are hard to break – especially bad ones.

There isn’t a one-size-fits-all solution. But because my target is youth audiences, I’ll give you some things to think about …

  • Are your goals focused on an end goal of being God-oriented, others-oriented, or self-oriented?
  • Are you involving your parents, other family, and close friends in your dreams, goals, friendships, and the desires of your heart?
  • Are you praying over all your struggles? (Emotional, physical, mental, spiritual, relational?)
  • Are you working so hard at your goals that you don’t have time to do things you’re passionate about, or things that help others?
  • Are you giving God the glory, if only just in the quiet of your own prayer time?

A habit isn’t broken by mental assent. You’ve got to discover something that resonates in your soul – something that means something to you. For me, my “soul resonating” comes when I’m trying to act in trust in YHVH’s Will for my life. I’m coming to the realization that YHVH’s plan is the only plan I want. Any other plan will fail to satisfy.

So please don’t expect a lifestyle switch to be easy. It isn’t.

But please DO expect it to mold you, and change you. Of course, if you’re afraid of change (like I am) this will be even harder for you.

But are you willing to change? To line up your goals with God’s Will for your life? To break the habits that detract from God’s Will? To trust God to give you the strength for the things He wants you to accomplish?

There’s only One Way to find out.


I’d also like to add something that a friend told me …. Grace, over at Vibrant for Jesus. She said that we should always remember the MAIN goal, which is glorifying God. That made me think of this verse …

“I press toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus.”

Phillippians 3:14, NKJV

Paul had #goals too! His goal was the prize of Christ’s calling. What an amazing goal.

19 thoughts on “Goals and Habits … Is it God’s Will?

  1. Amber

    This is such a wonderful post! I feel like when we accomplish something, we immediately want and sometimes believe that it was because of our strength, our talent, our own motivation and determination. But we need to be continually thanking the Lord for His strength, His wisdom, and His determination to stick with US when we fall short. So true that we need to thank God for giving us our talents, our motivation, our determination!! ❤ ❤

    Liked by 2 people

    • makaylajesalyn

      So true! Preach it, sister! Sometimes I find that even after writing a post, I struggle with that same thing I’d written about! *facepalm* Thanks for your encouraging comments!! 🤗

      Liked by 1 person

      • Grace

        Oh goodness that’s so true! I think I’ve learned something and therefore am qualified to write about it and almost immediately God teaches me that I have so much more to be taught! 😉 I don’t wait until I’ve learned a lot about a subject anymore, because I find that while writing a learn so so much!

        Liked by 1 person

      • makaylajesalyn

        Oh, for sure! Wow, that’s true about learning while writing … I should try that with everything! (well, almost everything … 🤭)

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Megan

    This is such a good reminder, Makayla, thank you for posting this! I’ll often set goals for certain things to encourage productivity in my life and so on, but I love what you said about making sure following Christ is always your number one goal! We definitely should make that our number one goal, and that no other goals become more important than that! Thank you for this lovely reminder! 💛🤗

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment